135 schools qualify to compete in 2018 NSMQ

135 schools qualify to compete in 2018 NSMQ

The race for who emerges winner of the 2018 National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) has begun with over a hundred schools qualifying to compete.

A total of 135 schools from across the country – in all 10 regions – have been drawn to challenge for the ultimate bragging rights.

Presbyterian Boys Senior High School (PRESEC, Legon), St. Thomas Aquinas, Mawuli SHS, Ghana National College, Prempeh College, Aburi Girls’ SHS, Archbishop Porter Girls’ SHS and Mawuli SHS, among others, have been seeded.

READ ALSO: Photo: Prince David Osei welcomes baby girl on Easter Sunday

Meanwhile, the likes of Ada SHS, Islamic SHS, Jirapa SHS, Akwamuman SHS, Sunyani SHS, Navrongo SHS, Apam SHS, Sekondi College, Bishop Herman College and Ghana SHS, Tamale are also all in contention.

A post of the NSMQ Facebook page announced the list of all schools that have qualified to participate in this year’s quiz competition.

The post read: “Hello friends! Take a look at the 135 schools that will participate in #NSMQ2018 in June. Can you spot your school? Comment with if you do!”

The NSMQ started in 1994 and has since grown to become the biggest quiz among Senior High Schools in the country.

Join YEN on Instagram to be always informed and entertained!

Each year, SHS schools from all 10 regions are brought together to compete for the right to be called national champions.

The 2017 NSMQ was won by Prempeh College after they dispatched off St. Thomas Aquinas and Adisadel College, who finished second and third-runners up respectively.

In the video below, the deputy education minister, Mrs Barbara Ayisi, speaks on how President Akufo-Addo inspires her, and how the president's success story must also inspire the youth of Ghana to greater heights.

Subscribe to watch new videos

READ ALSO: Don't allow NDC, NPP to dictate to us – Palmer-Buckle

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel