Jean Mensa and 3 others sworn in to the EC by Akufo-Addo

Jean Mensa and 3 others sworn in to the EC by Akufo-Addo

- Jean Mensa will replace Charlotte Osei as Ghana's 3rd EC boss under the fourth republic

- She was sworn in along with three other at the Jubilee House

Ghana's president, Nana Akufo-Addo has on Wednesday evening sworn in Jean Mensa as the new Electoral Commissioner to take over from Charlotte Osei. The occasion took place at the Jubilee House

Mensa was the Executive Director of Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA). Her deputies at the Electoral Commission (EC) will be the former head of the Political Science Department of the University of Ghana, Dr Eric Bossman and the Director of Electoral Services at the Electoral Commission, Mr Samuel Tettey.

Mrs Adwoa Asuama Abrefa, a lawyer, was also been sworn in as a member of the commission.

READ ALSO: Please don’t bleach; we like you like this – Fan begs Wendy Shay over her latest photo

Jean Mensa

Charlotte Osei was the former EC boss until her removal about a month ago. Photo credit: Supplied

In his message to them, the President asked of the appointees to endeavour to serve beyond reproach. He tasked them to abide by the laws of their duties.

The four were nominated by the President and approved by the Council of State following the impeachment of Charlotte Osei and her two deputies, Georgina Opoku Amankwa and Amadu Sulley.

READ ALSO: 4 reasons that prove the NDC rank and file still love Mahama

Jean Mensa will be Ghana's 3rd electoral commisioner under the fourth republic. The previous two were Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan and Mrs Charlotte Osei.

Ghana news: President Akufo Addo Asked For More Prayers |

Subscribe to watch new videos

Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page.


Related news
5 details gathered so far about Kumasi shooting

5 truths about the Kumasi NDC shootings

5 truths about the Kumasi NDC shootings
Mailfire view pixel