5 MPs who may not contest in the 2020 elections

5 MPs who may not contest in the 2020 elections

YEN.com.gh earlier reported that the Member of Parliament (MP) for Assin Central, Kennedy Agyapong, has declared his intention not to run for Parliament in the year 2020.

This decision was reached after his meeting with the Privileges Committee for his remarks passed about the house.

The MP is reported to have referred to Parliament as a useless institution, a remark, he later apologized for.

A man wearing spectacles

The Speaker of Parliament, Michael Aaron Ocquaye Source: presidency.gov.gh

READ ALSO: We don't want you in 2020 - Assin Central rejects Kennedy Agyapong

In response, the people of Assin Central stated that they need someone different to represent them in Parliament from the year 2020 onwards.

Aside Kennedy Agyapong, some MPs may be wrapping up their duties in the house for a number of reasons, as the y may never return. YEN.com.gh brings to you 5 MPs who may never return to Parliament:

1. Kennedy Agyapong – Assin Central

Kennedy Agyapong, after his remarks about Parliament, and his subsequent interrogation by the Privileges Committee, has declared that he will not contest for his seat in 2020.

2. Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin – Nadowli Kaleo

The astute lawmaker, has declared his intention to stand as flagbearer for the National Democratic Congress (NDC). This, if pursued, will render him ineligible to contest for the 2020 elections.

3. George Yaw Gyan-Baffour – Wenchi

The 67-year old lawmaker has been representing the people of Wenchi since the year 2005. In the year 2020, he will be an MP for 15 years, and it may be an opportune time to step down.

4. Inusah Fuseini – Tamale Central

Just like Kennedy Agyapong, Inusah Fuseini has declared that he will not represent the people of Tamale Central in the 2020 elections. He is no longer interested in being in Parliament.

5. K.T Hammond – Adansi Asokwa

The 58-year-old parliamentarian has been representing the people of Adansi-Asokwa since the year 2000. By the year 2020, he would have represented them for 20 years. It may be a time for him to step aside for someone else to take charge.

READ ALSO: MP in hot waters as EOCO impounds his 5 cars

Ghana News Today: President Akufo-Addo’s Tour | #Yencomgh

Subscribe to watch new videos

Want to be featured on YEN.com.gh? Send us a message on our Facebook page or on Instagram with your stories, photos or videos

Source: Yen

Mailfire view pixel