Lydia Seyram Alhassan wins Ayawaso West Wuogon seat

Lydia Seyram Alhassan wins Ayawaso West Wuogon seat

Lydia Seyram Alhassan has won the Ayawaso West Wuogon seat after Thursday's, January 31, 2019, by-election.

With the win, Lydia has thus replaced her husband as the Member of Parliament for the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency.

Lydia, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) candidate, was the second wife of the late MP Mr Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko.

Lydia Seyram Alhassan wins Ayawaso West Wuogon seat
Lydia Alhassan (Photo credit:
Source: UGC

READ ALSO: Ayawaso West Wuogon: Top NDC executive describes Maa Lydia as a slay queen widow

She polled 68.80 per cent of the valid votes cast.

Her closest challenger, Kwasi Delali Brempong of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) polled 30.52 per cent while William Kofi Dowokpor of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) and Clement Boadi of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) polled 0.58 and 0.10 per cent respectively. had earlier reported how the election was marred by a shooting incident at the residence of one of the aspirants, Brempong; which resulted in injuries to 18 persons.

READ ALSO: Gunshots at Ayawaso West by-election: Eyewitness narrates how violence started at La-Bawaleshie polling station (Video)

Member of Parliament for Ningo-Pranpram, Sam George, was also assaulted by very well built men in black T-shirts.

Yenkasa: What do you think about amorous pre-wedding photo shoots? | #Yencomgh

Subscribe to watch new videos

Click here to get the latest exciting English Premier League news. Get match highlights, reports, photos & videos all in one place.


Aba Afful avatar

Aba Afful (Copyeditor) Maame Aba serves as a copy editor at She naturally enjoys working with words and has an eye for quality content. She has a keen interest in cyberspace and wants to see produce more impactful, thought-provoking, and error-free content. Aba has five years of experience as a content writer, blogger, author, and proofreader. She graduated from the Ghana Institute of Journalism in 2017. She joined the team in 2021.

Online view pixel