- The Black Stars have been eliminated from the 2019 AFCON in the 1/16 round after being defeated on penalties
- The match which ended 1-1 after extra time saw a first half goal from team captain, Dede Ayew, being disallowed by the referee, Victor Gomes
- The South African referee had indicated there was a handball against Thomas Partey before the ball got to Ayew
- But video footage shows the ball rather hit Partey's mouth and not his hand as Gomes had suggested
- Ghanaians who were incensed by the decision took social media to insult the South African match official
Ghana's Black Stars have been eliminated from the 2019 African Cup of Nations following their defeat to the Carthage Eagles of Tunisia.
After playing out a 1-1 draw at the end of extra time, the fate of the Black Stars was to be decided by penalties.
While Tunisians scored all of their five kicks, second-half substitute Caleb Ekuban missed his for Ghana leaving the score after penalties 5-4 in favour of Tunisia.
Many Ghanaians who were heartbroken by the results took to social media to vent their anger on the referee for the match, Victor Gomes.
YEN.com.gh's check on Gomes' Instagram page revealed that his latest post had been flooded with over 2000 comments blasting him.
The insults were so much that Gomes had to delete that particular photo and make his account private.
Even with that, many people are still insulting him under other posts which have his picture.
The anger against the South African referee was for the fact that he disallowed a Ghana goal in the firs-half.
Captain the Dede Ayew backheeled the ball into the net after a cross from the right following a pass laid by Thomas Partey..
While explaining to the Ghanaian players why he disallowed the goal, referee Gomes gesticulated that the ball had hit Partey's hand before his pass.
But TV footages clearly showed the ball hit the Atletico Madrid midfielder's mouth and not his hand leading many to conclude that the referee had robbed Ghana of victory.
Meanwhile, a new photo sighted by YEN.com.gh has shown that though referee Gomes gave the wrong reason for disallowing Dede Ayew's goal, the decision was a right one.
The photo shows Partey was in in an offside position before getting the ball to Dede to score.
Yenkasa: Is it likely for the Black Stars to win this year's AFCON? | #Yencomgh:
Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition?
Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page