Doreen Hammond is 2018 GJA Best Journalist

Doreen Hammond is 2018 GJA Best Journalist

- Ms Doreen Hammond, the Editor of Junior Graphic has been adjudged Best Journalist of the Year 2018

- She was honoured at the 24th Ghana Journalist Association Awards held at Kempinski Gold Coast Hotel, Accra

- The awards ceremony climaxed the 70th Anniversary celebrations of the GJA

- Our Manifesto: This is what believes in

Editor of Junior Graphic, Doreen Hammond, has been adjudged the 2018 Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Best Journalist.

The Graphic Group employee also picked up Best Columnist Award of the Year.

Before rising to become the Editor of the Junior Graphic this year, Ms Hammond was the Features Editor of the Daily Graphic newspaper.

READ ALSO: Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu visits former president in Accra (photos)

The wards ceremony which took place at the Kempinski Gold Coast Hotel, Accra on Saturday, November 23 saw journalists from across the country being rewarded for the work.

The GJA wards provided a platform to recognize individuals and companies that play a significant role in the growth and development of the country.

The ceremony was the high point of the 70th Anniversay celebrations of the GJA, which is on the theme, “Democracy, Freedom and Independence of the Media in Ghana.” beats Ghanaweb, Citi FM to win ‘Online News Portal of the Year” at NCA awards 2019 (photos)

The special guest of honour was the Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia.

Honorary awards were presented to a number of personalities including Sir Sam Jonah and Dr Charles Wereko Brobbey.

Below is the ful list of the award winners for 2018

Doreen Hammond (Graphic) - Best Journalist for the Year 2018

Doreen Hammond (Daily Graphic) - Best Columnist

Rebecca Kwei (Daily Graphic) - Best HIV/AIDS Reporter

Maxwell Akalaare Adombilla (Graphic Business) - Best Economic and Financial Reporter (Print)

Nana Konadu Agyeman (Daily Graphic) - Best Transport and Road Safety Reporter (Print)

Moses Dotse Aklorbortu (Graphic Business) - Best Oil and Gas Reporter

Maclean Kwofi (Graphic Business) - Best Maritme Reporter (Print)

Kester Aburam Kuranchie (Graphic Business) - Best Investigative Reporter

Edmund Smith-Asante (Daily Graphic) - Best Tourism Reporter (Print)

Charles Andoh (The Mirror) - Best Education Reporter (Print)

Charles Benoni Okine (Graphic Business) - Best Telecommunication Reporter (Print)

Daily Graphic - Best Newspaper

Citi Breakfast Show - Best Morning Show (English)

Citi FM - Best Radio Station (English)

READ ALSO: 4 reasons why you could be denied boarding on a flight

Samuel A. Akapule (Ghanaian Times) - Best Rural Reporter

Kingsley Hope (Ghanaian Times) - Best Sports Reporter (Print)

John Vigah (Ghanaian Times) - Best Feature Writer (Print)

Geoffrey Buta (The Spectator) - Best Photo Journalist

Alberto Mario Noretti (Ghanaian Times) - Best Small and Medium Scale Reporter (Print)

Abigail Annor (Ghanaian Times) - Best News Reporter (Print)

Kwaku Osei Bonsu (GNA) - Winner of Dr G.T. Anim Award for Ethics in Journalism

Prosper Kuorsoh (GNA) - Best Agric Reporter (Print)

Albert Futukpor (GNA) Best Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Reporter (Online)

Albert Oppong Andah (GNA) - Best Environment Reporter (Electronic)

A.B. Kafui Kanyi (GNA) - Best Child Protection and Participation (Electronic)

GNA - Best Online News

Janet Abena Quainoo (GTV) - Best Rural Reporter (Electronic)

Ibrahim Oppong Boateng (GTV) - Best Court and Crime Reporter

Clara Mlano (GTV) - Best Reporter in Illegal Mining (Galamsey)

GTV - Best Democracy and Peace Building Television Station

GTV - Best Radio and TV Programme in Ga, Ewe

Portia Gabor (TV3) - Best Female Journalist

Portia Gabor (TV3) - Best Transport Ans Road Safety (Electronic)

Peter Quao Adator (TV3) - Best Sports Reporter (Electronic)

Evelyn Tengmaa (TV3) - Best Political Reporter

TV3’s New Day - Best Television Morning Show (English)

READ ALSO: New Edubiase midfielder Malik Yakubu reportedly dead (Photo)

Ina Thalia Quansah (Joy News/Radio Maxx) - Most Promising Journalist

Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy News) - Best Human Rights Reporter

Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy News) Best in Features (TV)

Justice Baidoo (Joy News) - Best Telecommunication (Electronic)

Beryl Ernestina Richter (Joy News) - Best Health Reporter (TV)

Nabil Ahmed Rufai (GHOne TV) - Best Education Reporter (Electronic)

Alice Aryeetey (GHOne TV) -

Alice Aryeetey (GHOne TV) - Best TV News Reporter

GHOne TV - Best Television Station (English)

Kofi Amoah (TV Africa) - Best Reporter in Disability

Grace Nana Esi (Oman FM) - Best Maritime Reporter (Electronic)

Adu Gyamfi Marfo (Kingdom FM) - Child Protection and Participation (Radio)

Kabu Nartey (GIJ) - Best Student Journalist

Anim Addo (UTV) - Best Agric Reporter (TV)

UTV’s Heritage Ghana - Best TV Programme in Akan

Peace FM’s Kookrokoo - Best Morning Show (Akan)

UTV - Best Television Station (Akan)

Peace FM - Best Radio Station (Akan)

Di Asa on Atinka TV - Best Arts and Entertainment Programme

Best Regional FM Stations - West End Radio, Bright FM, Radio Savannah, URA Radio, Radio Upper West, Space FM, Classic FM, Hello FM, Swiss FM. earlier reported that aide to former president John Mahama, Joyce Bawa Mogtari says Akufo-Addo was unjust to her sister, former Minister of Gender, Child and Social Protection, Otiko Afisa Djaba.

Joyce Bawa Mogtari condemned the President, saying her sister was disrespected when she was reshuffled.

Star Gist: I was diagnosed with heart failure - Psalm Adjetefio | #Yencomgh

Subscribe to watch new videos

READ ALSO: Bawumia cuts sod for 30km Sinohydro Cape Coast inner city roads

Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition? Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page.

Source: Yen

Mailfire view pixel