NPP suspends six officials who invoked curses in river

NPP suspends six officials who invoked curses in river

- The NPP has suspended some party executives for misconduct in the Ashanti Region

- The suspended members are from the Juaben Constituency

- Their offence was invoking curses on the party's executives

- Our manifesto: This is what believes in

The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) has suspended six of its members who are polling station officials in the Juaben Constituency of the Ashanti Region.

The six have been suspended for 21 days for invoking curses on executives of the constituency because their candidate failed to pass the mark for the NPP’s upcoming primaries on June 20.

The suspension took effect on June 12, 2020, and will end on July 2, 2020.

NPP suspends six officials who invoked curses
John Boadu is NPP's General Secretary
Source: UGC

READ ALSO: COVID-19: 54 people have died from virus so far; 11,964 cases recorded

The six polling station officials allegedly took the action to express their displeasure over the disqualification of Francis Owusu Akyaw, an aspirant who had wanted to contest in the upcoming parliamentary primaries.

The names of the suspended officials are Ransford Osei, a Polling Station Secretary, at Juaben Anglican JHS ‘A’,  Yaw Owusu Collins, a Polling Station Chairman at Juaben Court Yard 1 and Owusu Tawiah, also a Polling Station Secretary, Bomfa United Primary School.

The rest are, Collins Obeng Berko, Polling Station Chairman, Bomfa United Primary School Dickson Amoah, Polling Station Chairman, Nobewam M/A Primary School, and Charles Agyemang Boateng, Polling Station Organiser, Bomfa United Primary School.

In a letter signed by the Constituency Chairman, Alex Kwabena Sarfo Kantanka explained that the action taken by the polling station officials was contrary to articles 3 and 4 of the party’s constitution.

READ ALSO: Ken Agyapong explains how he made his first million dollars at age 36 in 1996

In a separate interview, Ashanti Regional Secretary of the NPP, Sam Pina, told Joy News that more suspensions will follow for similar behaviour in Asokwa, Offinso, and Atwima Mponua constituencies.

The NPP last week announced the names of parliamentary aspirants who qualified to contest in the party’s primaries on June 20, 2020. earlier reported that the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has started vetting parliamentary aspirants for the 2020 elections and already, some interesting developments are coming up.

In the Ablekuma West constituency, the vetting committee of the NPP failed Mr. Albert Kan Dapaah Jr.

Mr. Dapaah Jr was contesting incumbent Member of Parliament, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful to become the parliamentary candidate for the constituency.

"1 hour is not enough to worship God in Church" - Ghanaians speak out | #Yencomgh

Subscribe to watch new videos

READ ALSO: Names of all the 22 children of Kennedy Agyapong pop up

Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition? Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page.

Source: Yen

Online view pixel