NPP Primaries: 20 top sitting MPs kicked out as newbies take over

NPP Primaries: 20 top sitting MPs kicked out as newbies take over

The 2020 New Patriotic Party Primaries which is currently winding down after massive attention it received today, June 20, 2020, has seen some sitting MPs losing out to newcomers.

As many expected incumbency to tilt in the favor of the current Members of Parliament, that was not meant to be as delegates had something else coming for them.

The results have come as a shock to some and as a prophecy for others who predicted the sitting MPs to fall.

It is yet to be determined what caused the massive overhauling of incumbents and the introduction of new faces. brings you a list of the sitting MPs who would not be returning to parliament come January 2021.

Bantama saw incumbent Daniel Okyem losing out to Francis Asenso Boakye.

Tema Central also witnessed MP Kofi Brako losing to newbie Yves Hanson-Nortey.

Manyhia North's contest had Collins Owusu Amankwa losing the seat to Akwasi Konadu.

Nhyiaeso saw Kennedy Kankam losing to newcomer Stephen Amoah.

La Dadekotopon had Vincent Sowah giving way for Gerald Joseph Nyanyofio.

Kwesimintsim constituency saw Joseph Mensah making way for fresh face Prince H Armah to try his luck at becoming MP.

In Okaikwei South, incumbent Ahmed Arthur lost to female contender Darkoa Newman.

Oda's contest saw William Quaitoo relegating the seat to new boy Alexander Ackum.

Ablekuma North saw a change of baton in choice of MP as Nana Akua Afriyie handed over to Sheila Bartels

Akwatia's darling, Ama Sey, lost to male challenger Ernest Yaw Kumi

Bibiani-Anwiaso-Bekwai's seat has also gone to newcomer Alfred Obeng Boateng

Kwabena Owusu Aduomi gave up his place for John Kumah in Ejisu.

At the end of the contest in Akim Oda, William Agyapong Quaitoo lost to Alexander Akwasi Acquah.

Navrongo Central saw powerful incumbent, Kofi Adda, handing over to newcomer Tangoba Abayage.

Sissala West had MP Patrick Adamah making way for new entrant Nalewie Baluwie

New Juaben South saw astute politician Mark Assibey Yeboah losing to Michael Okyere Baafi

In Wa East, Godfred Bayon Tangu was floored by Ing. Salifu Yakubu who won after a hard-fought contest.

Sissala East also had Ridwan Abass giving way for new successor Issahaku Amidu Chinnia.

When polls were closed and ballots counted in Shama, Hon. Ato Panford lost to Samuel Ericson Abaka

Mpohor also recorded that Hon. Alex. K. Agyekum was to make way to allow John Kobina Abbam Aboah Sanie to represent that part at the 2020 December polls.

University of Ghana reopens for final year students | #Yencomgh

Subscribe to watch new videos

Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition?

Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page.

Source: Yen

Online view pixel