7 top NDC parliamentary seats NPP cannot snatch in 2020

7 top NDC parliamentary seats NPP cannot snatch in 2020

The major opposition party, the National Democratic Congres and the ruling New Patriotic Party will be battling out their chances to occupy seats in parliament during the December 7 elections

Our manifesto: This is what YEN.com.gh believes in

It is not clear how many exact seats each of them will occupy.

However, YEN.com.gh has tactfully compiled a list of parliamentary seats that already belong to the opposition National Democratic Congress

1. Nadowli West Constituency

The Nadowli West Constituency in the Upper West Region of Ghana has been a strong seat for the NDC for a long time.

Alban Bagbin, the incumbent MP for the constituency, stood on the ticket of the NDC and successfully won in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th parliaments of the 4th Republic of Ghana.

The trend will likely not end soon for the party although Bagbin himself will no more contest.

Read also

Ghanaians react to Ken Agyapong comments about warning gov't about Amidu

2. Tamale South Constituency

The Tamale South Constituency has also been for the NDC for many ages with Haruna Iddrisu, the current MP of the constituency, reigning since 2004 when the region was first created.

After 16 years of success, it can be said that nothing is yet strong enough to take the seat from the NDC in the area.

7 top NDC parliamentary seats NPP cannot snatch in 2020
7 top NDC parliamentary seats NPP cannot snatch in 2020 Source: Ghanaweb
Source: UGC

3. Ningo-Prampram Constituency

Since 1992, the Ningo-Prampram Constituency has been taken hostage by the National Democratic Congress.

The current member of parliament, Sam Nartey George, took over in 2016 from Enoch Teye Mensah who had been on the seat since 1996.

The constituency is a strong NDC zone and nobody can change that as yet.

4. Anlo Constituency

The Anlo Constituency is one that has seen a lot of changes in political parties since it was created.

Prior to 1992, the National Alliance of Liberals, Convention People's Party and United National Convention had exchanged the baton.

Read also

6 ministers whose performance might encourage people to give Akufo-Addo 4 more years

In 1992, NDC took over but was stopped by an independent candidate in 2000.

However, since 2004, NDC's Clement Krofi Humado has not given the chance to any other person to take the seat.

All things being equal, the trend will continue.

5. Ketu South

The Ketu South Constituency is another stronghold of the NDC that is known popularly as their 'world bank'.

NDC has successfully retained the seat since 1992.

The current MP, Fiifi Fiavi Kwetey, has been reigning since 2012.

It takes no prophet to know 2020 will also be for the opposition party.

6. Sefwi-Akontombra Constituency

For the past 16 years, the National Democratic Congress has solidly kept the parliamentary seat under the honourable MP Herod Cobbina.

2020 will likely not take a different turn.

7. Ho Central Constituency

Another stronghold the NDC has always prided itself on is the Ho Central Constituency.

Read also

Sad photos drop as Rawlings' children join NDC to mourn their father

The seat has been occupied by the opposition party since 1992 and from 2012, Hon Benjamin Komla Kpodo has been the member of parliament.

Ceteris Paribus, the NDC will continue the same trend.

In other news, a 69-year-old Ghanaian man has revealed that he has never been sick in his entire life or even visited a medical facility for any reason.

In an exciting interview on the official YouTube channel of SV TV Africa monitored by YEN.com.gh, the old man attributed his thriving health to the power of God.

Enjoy reading our stories? Download YEN's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major Ghana news!

Residents of Ashaley Botwe in Accra cry over 'unsafe' tall building sited in community | #Yencomgh

Subscribe to watch new videos

Share your stories and news by getting interactive on our Facebook page!

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel