December polls: Titus Glover, 16 top ministers who have lost their jobs as MPs

December polls: Titus Glover, 16 top ministers who have lost their jobs as MPs

The provisional results from the 2020 general elections is not looking good for the New Patriotic Party, NPP, as most of their ministers have lost their seats.

Our manifesto: This is what believes in

In some constituencies where the seats were considered as safe due to the personalities there, the seats have been captured by the NDC.

Unfortunately for the NPP, some notable figures like George Andah, Barbara Oteng Gyasi and Titus Glover lost their seats.

December polls: Provisional list of top NPP ministers who have lost their seats
George Andah and Barbara Oteng Gyasi
Source: Facebook has, however, compiled a list of top NPP ministers who have lost their seats per th results pouring in so far.

1. Deputy Agric Minister - George Oduro

The lost the seat in New Edubiase.

2. Deputy Communications Minister, George Nenyi Andah

He lost the Awutu Senya seat after snatching the seat in 2016 from Hannah Tetteh.

3. Minister of State, Boniface Abubakar Saddique

He lost the Madina seat to Xavier Sosu after snatching it from the NDC in 2016 .

Read also

Election 2020: Yaw Buaben Asamoah, other NPP big-wigs lose their seats to NDC candidates

4. Deputy Minister for Communications, Alexander Abban

The Deputy minister lost the Gomoah West seat.

5. Minister for Tourism, Barbara Oteng Gyasi

The minister who has been tagged with the Year of Return success lost the Prestea Huni Valley seat to the NDC.

6. Deputy Aviation Minister, Yaw Afful

He lost the seat in the Jaman South

8. Minister for Planning, George Gyan Baffuor

The minister lost the Wenchi seat.

9. Deputy Defence Minister, Derrick Oduro

Lost the the seat in Nkoranza North

10. Deputy Minister for Works and Housing, Barbara Asher Ayisi

The first time MP lost the Cape Coast North seat to the NDC.

11. Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Elizabeth Afoley Quaye

The 15.minister lost the Krowor seat to the NDC.

12. Deputy Fisheries Minister, Francis Kingsley Cudjoe

He lost the Ekumfi seat.

13. Deputy Minister for Transport, Titus Nii Kwatei Glover

Read also

Nii Lante Vanderpuye fulfills Akufo-Addo’s ‘prophesy’; retains Odododiodio seat

The Tema East seat was snatched from the deputy transport minister.

14. Deputy Roads Minister, Anthony Karbo

Karbo lost the Lawra seat to the NDC.

15. Deputy Minister for Water Resources and Sanitation, Michael Gyato

He lost the Krachi East seat.

16. Deputy Minister for Chieftaincy, Paul Essien

He lost the Jomoro seat to first time contender, Dorcas Affo Toffey.

17. Deputy Minister for Health, Oko Boye

Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye lost the Ledzokuku to the NDC parliamentary candidate ,

Over 17 million voters were expected to take part in the December 7 election, having endured a challenging year due to the raging coronavirus pandemic.

The leading front runners in the 2020 polls are incumbent President Nana Akufo-Addo, representing the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP), and the presidential candidate of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), John Dramani Mahama.

Ten other candidates are also in the race to be elected as president to manage the affairs of the country, with 275 single-member seats in parliament up for election as well.

Read also

Kwakye Ofosu concedes defeat in Abura Asebu despite NDC's claim of flipping seat

In other news, the general secretary of the National Democratic Congress, Johnson Aseidu Nketia, has claimed that the Electoral Commission would declare candidate Mahama president-elect.

In a report sighted by on, the general secretary of the NDC indicated that John Mahama had secured enough votes to win him the 2020 presidential election.

This claim was coming from Aseidu Nketia on the back of earlier claims made by the opposition NDC that they had won a majority of the seats in parliament.

Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition? Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page.


Online view pixel