Election 2020: See all the new faces in Ghana's 8th parliament

Election 2020: See all the new faces in Ghana's 8th parliament

Every election year comes with new faces in parliament.

These parliamentary candidates are chosen by the people for certain constituencies as a result of their lack of confidence in the previous ones or disbelief in the other contenders.

Trending topics on the go: How we write news at YEN.com.gh

Install our latest app for Android and read the best news about Ghana

This 2020 parliamentary and presidential election is no different from the others.

Election 2020: See all the new faces in Ghana's 8th parliament
Lawyer Francis Xavier Sosu and Dzifa Abla Gomashie
Source: Facebook

YEN.com.gh has however, compiled the list of some new faces that will represent their constituencies in the 4th republic of the 8th parliament.

The names are culled from a list of results that have so far been collated by collation centres.

1. Abu Jinapor

Samuel Abu Jinapor will be a first-time Member of Parliament for the Damongo constituency. He defeated the incumbent MP Adam Mutawakilu, to contest the seat.

Abu Jinapor is the brother of NDC's John Jinapor, who happens to be the MP for Yapei-Kusawgu Constituency

He was the Deputy Chief of Staff under the ruling NPP.

2. Lawyer Francis Xavier Sosu

The NDC parliamentary candidate for Madina Constituency.

Election 2020: See all the new faces in Ghana's 8th parliament
Francis Xavier Sosu
Source: Facebook

Francis Xavier Sosu is heading to parliament for the first time after defeating the incumbent MP for Madna, Abu-Bakar Saddique Boniface.

He won by 61, 274 votes while the incumbent NPP MP managed to pull some 46, 525 votes.

3. John Peter Amewu

Energy Minister John Peter Amewu made history as the first NPP candidate to win the Hohoe seat in the Volta Region.

Election 2020: See all the new faces in Ghana's 8th parliament
John Peter Amewu
Source: Twitter

Amewu polled 26,952 against his major contender, Prof Margaret Kweku of the NDC who polled 21,821.

4. Dzifa Gomashie

Dzifa Abla Gomashie won the Ketu-South seat for the NDC. She happens to be the first woman to represent the constituency since 1992.

Election 2020: See all the new faces in Ghana's 8th parliament
Dzifa Abla Gomashie
Source: Facebook

She was the Deputy Minister for Tourism and Art under the erstwhile Mahama administration.

She will replace incumbent MP, Fiifi Kwetey who did not seek reelection in the December 7, 2020, election.

5. Dakoa Newman

Dakoa Newman has won the seat for Okaikwei South after she won the primaries against the incumbent MP, Arthur Ahmed.

This would be a new journey and experience for her.

6. Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui

Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui snatchd back the seat NPP's George Andah snatched from her sister, Hannah in 2016.

Tetteh is heading to parliament for the first time and would be representing the Awutu Senya West in the next four years.

7. Adamu Ramadan

Adamu Ramadan, the bother of second lady, Samira Bawumia unseated NPP's Yaw Buaben Asamoa in the just ended elections.

He would be representing the people of Adenta under the 8th parliament of the 4th republic.

8. Ophelia Hayford

The widow of the late Mfantseman MP, Ophelia Hayford will be making her debut appearance in parliament.

She had to stand in for her late husband, Ekow Quansah Hayford who was shot by armed men on his was back from a campaign

9. Shiela Bartels

The daughter of Kwamena Bartels won the Ablekuma North seat for the ruling NPP.

She effortlessly won the seat which was formally occupied by her father years back.

Shiela Bartels polled 54,556 out of the 85,471 total votes against her contender from the National Democratic Congress’ (NDC) Winifred Ashley Mensah who obtained 29,702 votes

Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition? Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page.

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel