Election 2020: NDC wins disputed Sene West seat; it is now 137, 137

Election 2020: NDC wins disputed Sene West seat; it is now 137, 137

- The NDC has won the disputed Sene seat with 16 votes

- According to the provisional result, NDC secured 13,116 as against NPP's 13,100

- The 2020 elections came off on Monday, December 7, 2020

Our manifesto: This is what YEN.com.gh believes in

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has been declared the winner of the disputed parliamentary seat in the Sene West Constituency in the Bono East Region.

In a report seen by YEN.com.gh on Myjoyonline.com, one of the polling stations in the constituency became a subject of contention, saw a petition for an interlocutory injunction by the New Patriotic Party (NPP) thrown out by the Wenchi High Court.

The injunction was being sought with regards to polls at the Tato ‘A’ polling station in Tato Bator.

Election 2020: NDC wins disputed Sene seat; it is now 137, 137
Election 2020: NDC wins disputed Sene seat; it is now 137, 137 (Photo credit: Myjoyonline.com)
Source: UGC

The court ruling paved way for the Electoral Commission to declare the results of the parliamentary contest in the Sene West Constituency.

Read also

Election 2020: Court dismisses case filed by NPP against EC, NDC in Sene West

Following the counting of the Tato ‘A’ polling station ballots, the NDC secured 275 votes against the NPP’s 148 leaving the NDP with just 1 vote. A total of 47 votes were rejected.

The result was subsequently reconciled with that of other already collated from or stations after which the NDC’s Kwame Ampofo Twumasi won with a cumulative 13,116 against the NPP’s Joseph Markay Kuma who polled 13,100 per the provisional results.

With the latest update, the NDC has now increased their parliamentary seats to 137 same as the NPP with one independent.

Meanwhile, scores of supporters and sympathizers of the National Democratic Congress, NDC, are engaged in a face-off with police personnel at the Electoral Commission, EC, headquarters.

They massed up on the street of the Electoral Commission headquarters to protest against the election results declared in favour of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

The counting was supervised by the EC officials in the company of Dan Kwaku Botwe of the NPP and NDC General Secretary, Johnson Asiedu Nketia among others.

Read also

Election 2020: Thousands of NDC supporters in Ketu South to protest ‘stolen’ verdict

In a video sighted by YEN.com.gh on dailycelebrities.org, the protestors were spotted clad in black and red attires whiles chanting songs and wielding placards.

Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition?

Send us a message now on our official Facebook page.

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel