T.P Mazembe Trounce ‘Dream Team XI’

T.P Mazembe Trounce ‘Dream Team XI’

CAF 2015 Champions, TP Mazembe on Sunday trounced a local select side that comprised of some selected players from Ghana’s premier league by 3-0 as part of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation Annual Governance Weekend.

The match at the Accra stadium was graced by President John Mahama, the British born Sudanese Mo Ibrahim, and TP Mazembe owner Moise Katumbe.

Former Asante Kotoko captain, Daniel Nii Adjei shot the African champions into the lead in 14 minute, after connecting home a header from a corner kick, before Merschak Elia doubled their lead in 20 minute after Ghana defender Baba Mensah had gifted him the ball.

Godfred Saka was however on hand to pull one back for the Dream Team through a stunning freekick outside the 18 yard box.

The Ghana team stepped up their game and when all looked like they were going to get an equalizer and go ahead to win, another ex-Kotoko man, Yaw Frimpong located Elia with a good cross, who then  positioned himself well to nod the ball perfectly to restore the two goal margin lead by T.P Mazembe.

Striker Kofi Owusu for the select  side,  should have registered his name on the score sheet, just two minutes after the Congolese giants' 3rd goal, but the league’s top scorer miskicked the ball in a one on one situation with Robert Kidiaba.

The game saw the presence of some great players like Stephen Appiah, who was replaced in the 30th minute by Laryea Kingston, another ex-star

The second half of the game produced no goal as Kofi Owusu’s woes with the striker continuing to fail in finding  which compelled coach C.K Akunnor to replace him  with Joel Fameyeh of Asokwa Deportive, a division one league side.

Starting line-up for the Ghana’s Dream Team: Richard Ofori, Godfred Saka, Zakaria Mumuni Joshua Tijani Baba Mensah, Ahmed Adams, Eric Kwakwa Samuel Tetteh Kadri Mohammed, Kofi Owusu

T.P Mazembe's starting line-up: Robert Kidiaba, Yaw Frimpong, Richard Kissie Boateng,  Eric Ngoie Kabulo, Christian Luyindama Nekadio, Daniel Nii Adjei, Yannick  Tusilu Bazola, Gladson Awako, Deo  Kand A Mukok, Chico Ushindi Wa Kubanza, Meschak Elia

Source: Yen.com.gh

Related news
Fan grabs breast of DW reporter while she was reporting live at the World Cup

Fan grabs breast of DW reporter while she was reporting live at the World Cup

Fan grabs breast of DW reporter while she was reporting live at the World Cup
Mailfire view pixel