PNC Congress: Mahama Elected Flagbearer, Ayariga Breakaway

PNC Congress: Mahama Elected Flagbearer, Ayariga Breakaway

Delegates of the People's National Convention (PNC) have elected Dr. Edward Mahama as flagbearer for the party to contest the presidential elections in 2016.

He polled polled 492 votes as against his closest contender Hassan Ayariga’s 426 votes. This will be Dr. Mahama’s fifth attempt at the presidential seat of Ghana.

The elections which came off in Wa in the Upper West region of Ghana saw a fight between supporters of the two main contestants for the flagbearership position. This led to arrest of three people buy the police.

In his acceptance speech Dr. Mahama said: "I offer myself as a candidate for president the 2016 elections.”

Meanwhile Hassan Ayariga after his defeat surprisingly announced his breakaway and opined that he will contest the 2016 presidential elections independently.

READ ALSO: Ayariga, Mahama Boys Clash At PNC Congress


Speaking to Radio Ghana on Sunday, Mr. Ayariga indicated that he will still contest as a Presidential Candidate in the 2016 general elections despite losing the bid to do so on the PNC’s ticket.

According to him, he was unfairly treated at the congress. “I am breaking away because the party does not deserve Hassan Ayariga. My name and face will be on the ballot boxes in 2016,” he said.

Mr. Ayariga polled only 0.22% of the total votes in the 2012 presidential elections as presidential candidate for the PNC.

Below are the full results of the PNC's national executive elections at congress:


1. Bernard Mornaah 701

2. David Apasara 152

3. Abubakari Sadiq 50

Vice Chairman:

1. Henry Haruna 310

2. Michael Womigo16

3. Hajia Ali Musah 272

Presidential candidate

1. Edward Mahama 492

2. Hassa Ayariga 426

General Secretary:

1. Atik Mohammed 518

2. Emmanuel will son 398

National Organiser :

1. Abu Ramadan 383

2. Desmond Ywimasi Nto 576

National Treasurer:

1. Mohammed Haruna 251

2. Kana Ibrahim 71

3. Benjamin Bediaku 19

4. Akane Adams 540

5. David Kadimu 32

National women’s organiser:

1. Janet Nabla 514

2. Elizabeth Amadikanya 385

National Youth Organiser:

1. Mark Ewusi Aku 252

2. Issahaku Awudulai 339

3. Alidu Mohammed Nazirudeen 222

4. Urine T. K Bashiru 93.


Related news
Lands Commission boss sacked by Akufo-Addo

Lands Commission boss sacked by Akufo-Addo

Lands Commission boss sacked by Akufo-Addo
Mailfire view pixel