Wrong Penalty Call For Barcelona, Says Spanish FA

Wrong Penalty Call For Barcelona, Says Spanish FA

The Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) says Barcelona's penalty against Real Betis on Wednesday was incorrectly awarded.

In the said match, Barcelona won 4-0 against Real Betis and now Spanish officials says Barcelona should not have been awarded the penalty which put them on their way to the win on Wednesday.

After 28 minutes, the game stood goalless with Betis holding their own against Luis Enrique's side, but their challenge became tougher when the referee mistakenly awarded a controversial spot-kick to Barcelona.

READ ALSO:We Will Register KP Boateng On January 4 – Adriano Galliani

A cross sent in towards Lionel Messi in the area, saw goalkeeper Adan who punched the ball into safety penalized by referee Inaki Bikandi for colliding with the Barcelona striker. Adan was also shown a yellow card for the alleged misbehavior.

Neymar hit the crossbar with the resulting penalty, but Heiko Westermann turned the rebound into his own net under pressure from Ivan Rakitic and Luis Suarez.

Messi made it 2-0 before half time, as Betis crumbled under pressure thereafter with Messi and Suarez combining effectively to give Suarez a brace ensuring the Blaugrana went into 2016 on top of La Liga.

However, the RFEF's disciplinary committee met on Thursday where they admitted referee Bikandi had blundered.

The Betis goalkeeper’s booking was therefore expunged from the records but the red card shown to Betis boss Pepe Mel for remarks he made to Bikandi will stand.

Related news

Liverpool manager SHOCKS the football world by inspiring his players in the ODDEST of ways(PHOTOS)

Liverpool manager SHOCKS the football world by inspiring his players in the ODDEST of ways(PHOTOS)

Liverpool manager SHOCKS the football world by inspiring his players in the ODDEST of ways(PHOTOS)