Philipp Lahm Blasts Inconsistent FIFA Ballon D'or

Philipp Lahm Blasts Inconsistent FIFA Ballon D'or

Bayern Munich captain, Philipp Lahm has called on FIFA to scrap the FIFA Ballon D’or award which he calls the 'world’s best striker's award'.

The World Cup winning captain proposed that FIFA creates four awards.

He wrote in his column: “Maybe there shouldn’t be an individual award in a team sport but (in addition to the world XI) four single awards for best goalkeeper, best defender, best midfielder and best striker instead.”

READ ALSO: Osei-Kuffour And Nyantekyi Rubbish CAF Footballer Awards

The German defender cum midfielder however praised Lionel Messi who he claims is the deserved winner of the 2015 FIFA Ballon D’or award.

He added: “The Ballon d’Or has become a vote for the ‘world’s best striker’. That’s not my embittered perspective as a defensive player but a neutral and statistically proven fact.”

The midfielder also analysed the winning formats of the Ballon D’or awards in the past 20 – 30 years to back his claim that the awards were usually given to the most prolific goal scorers.

He said: “Fabio Cannavaro is the only true defender to have won the Golden Ball. The unforgettable Lothar Matthaus won the title as a midfielder in 1991 and after him Zinedine Zidane three times, but Matthaus was much more offensive-minded.

“Both won it way before the real start of the digital age. Oliver Kahn and Manuel Neuer made the podium but no goalkeeper has ever won it [since Lev Yashin in 1963].

“To cut a long story short: Only the players who score goals can be crowned the best footballer of the year.”

Related news

Furious Essien threatens legal action against Panathinaikos

Furious Essien threatens legal action against Panathinaikos

You can't question my professionalism - Essien tells Panathinaikos
Mailfire view pixel