NDC sacks 23 for going independent

NDC sacks 23 for going independent

23 members of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) who have decided to contest as Independent parliamentary candidates in the December 7 polls have been dismissed by the party, in breach of articles 8 (d,f); 45 (a,b,c &e) and 46 (10) of the party's constitution.

In a press statement signed by the NDC’s General Secretary, Johnson Asiedu Nketia, it said, “The affected persons by their conduct and on their own volition have ceased to be members of the party.”

NDC sacks 23 for going independent

The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the party has, therefore, directed that the affected persons be “barred from the use of the party's paraphernalia, or the use of names of key party officials, including the party's presidential candidate in their campaigns or political activities, return all party property (including vehicles) in their possession.”

Executive members of the party who endorsed the nomination forms of independent parliamentary candidates or who are campaigning for independent candidates also cease to be members of the NDC according to articles 45 and 46 of the party’s constitution.

READ ALSO: There are no nude photos of me online - Ebi Bright

Confirming the dismissal to Chief Jerry Forson on Accra 100.5 FM’s breakfast show Ghana Yensom on Tuesday November 1, Deputy General Secretary Koku Anyidoho said, “Once you take that decision [to go independent] it comes with a cost, and so it is true, once you’ve gone and filed independent, you no longer belong to the party.”

READ ALSO: Samira Bawumia is Ghana's Mmichelle Obama - Lecturer

Below is the full list of sacked members of the NDC who are now running as independent parliamentary candidates:


1. Samson Abu (sitting MP) - Lawra

2. Pharauk Bandanaa - Wa West.


1. Anthony Cobinna - Cape Coast South


1. Alhassan Bunglung - Savelugu.

2.Joseph Amuzu: Saboba(already resigned).

3.Namburr Berrick - Bunkpurugu.


1. Harrold Cobinna (sitting MP) - Akontonbra.

2. John Amenlemah - Jomoro


1. Elvis Ativoe - Agotime Ziope

2. Albert Zigah - Ketu South

3. Jim Morti - Ketu South

4. Wogbemase Kpikpitse - North Dayi

5. Christopher Eleblu - North Tongu

6. Evans Gadeto Djikunu - Akatsi South.

7. Edwin Tukpeyi - Ho Central.

8. Dr David Kofil Ahorse - Buem.

9. Joseph Ofor (sitting MP) - Akan.

10. Timothy Udijol - Nkwanta North.

11. Emmanuel Jalulah - Karachi West.


1. Peter Yakubu Pandam - Garu

2. Dr. Francis Asaana - Tempane

3. Simon Akuye - Pusiga.

4. Saeed Ayuba - Bawku Central

Source: Yen

Mailfire view pixel