Here is why the referee didn't give Nigeria a penalty for Rojo's hand ball

Here is why the referee didn't give Nigeria a penalty for Rojo's hand ball

- Argentina leave it late to pip Nigeria and Iceland

- Argentina advanced to the Round of 16, and a mouth-watering tie with France, after a fittingly dramatic conclusion to their chaotic Group D campaign

The rules of the game which denied Nigeria what looked like a penalty during their World Cup game against Argentina have been explained.

The Super Eagles went into their third game against Argentina with a big chance of making it to the next stage.

However, all Nigerian and African hearts were broken after the team lost 2-1 to the South Americans to exit the tournament.

READ ALSO: 4 Reasons why Nigeria will beat Argentina

Lionel Messi’s 14th minute goal was cancelled out by a Victor Moses penalty early in the second half, before Marcos Rojo handed Argentina the win with the two minutes remaining on the clock.

But there was a moment of drama in the game, with the biggest talking point being a penalty appeal which the referee waved away despite the ball appearing to hit the hand of Argentina defender Marcos Rojo.

An attempted header from the Manchester United rear-guard ended up hitting his hand off his shoulder, sparking wild protests from Nigeria players.

However, Turkish referee Cuneyt Cakir would have none of that, despite consulting the VAR.

After the game, Nigeria captain Mikel Obi described the situation as a “clear penalty”, but it has been explained why it was not given.

Subscribe to watch new videos

READ ALSO: The golden boot race is heating up; will it be Ronaldo, Lukaku or Kane?

According to the VAR rules, once the ball comes off another part of the body before hitting the player’s hand, it is no longer a penalty.

The rules state: “If the ball hits the hand, off another part of the body first, then it will not be considered a voluntary hand ball.

Ghana Trends: Nigel Gaisie’s Prophecies: What Is Waiting For Ghana?

Subscribe to watch new videos

READ ALSO: Messi scores as Argentina pip Nigeria 2-1 to qualify for round of 16

So, have your doubts been cleared, or do you still think it was an unfair call from the ref? Drop your views on or Facebook page.

Source: Yen Newspaper

Online view pixel