Andre Ayew wins Sports Personality of The Year at MTN SWAG awards

Andre Ayew wins Sports Personality of The Year at MTN SWAG awards

Black Stars deputy captain Andre Ayew was crowned as the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Sports Personality of the year 2016 at the 41st MTN SWAG awards night on Saturday at the State Banquet Hall in Accra.

Andre Ayew wins Sports Personality of The Year at MTN SWAG awards

Ayew saw off competition from teammates Asamoah Gyan and last year’s winner, Harrison Afful.

The Swansea player was also adjudged the best footballer for the year 2016 coming from a brilliant 2015 AFCON display and EPL performance for his Welsh team where he racked in 12 goals.

Eric Opoku, the captain of Ashgold won the GPL Player of The Year 2016 award in other categories.

The Black Queens and coach Yussif Basigi were named as national team and coach of the year respectively.

US-based athlete, Nadia Eke won the Female athlete of the Year award while Richard Commey was adjudged the Professional Boxer of the Year.

Full list of award winners below:

Special Awards to Police Women’s Hockey team (silver medalist, ACC)

The Special Awards to Eben Annang Whyte (development of table tennis)

The Special Awards to Black Stars captain Asamoah Gyan (sports philanthropist)

Special Award to coach David Duncan (For Winning the SWAG Cups three times)

Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Sophia Okulley (for women’s football development).

Special Award to Nana Ampomah for his dedication to the course of SWAG over the last 40years

Dedication and Valour award goes to AsanteKotoko_SC star Stephen Oduro

Discovery of The Year- Richard Seklorwu gold medalist in long jump at the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa.

Discovery of The Year- Richard Seklorwu

Discovery of The Year- Joseph Kuyon (silver medallist, World Children Taekwondo Culture Festival in South Korea)

Discovery of The Year - Joseph Tindan Kuyon

Female Judoka of The Year- Szandra Szogoli

Male Judoka of The Year- Emmanuel Nartey (All Africa Games 60kg bronze medalist)

Para-Athlete Award- Patrick Yaw Obeng (1,500 & 800 T54 category bronze medalist @ the AAG)

National Team of The Year- Black Queens (For their gold winning feat @ the AAG)

National Team of The Year- Golden Rackets (George Darko & W. Na-Adjrago- Gold medalist @ the AAG)

Male Hockey Player of The Year- Johnny Botsio (Black Sticks & Trustees player)

Hockey Player of The Year (F) – Nafisatu Umaru (MVP @ AHC in Zambia, Lge winner with Police)

Amateur Boxer of The Year- David Bawa (Heavyweight bronze medalist at the 2015 AAG).

Athlete of The Year (Male category) - John Ampomah (Javelin Silver medalist at AAG, 2 national records).

Athlete of The Year (Female category) -Nadia Eke (Triple Jump Bronze medalist at the 2015 AAG, nat record holder).

Female Footballer of The Year - Portia Boakye

Coach of The Year- Yusif Basigi

Professional Boxer of The Year- Richard Commey

Premier League Star of The Year 2015 - Eric Opoku

Most Promising Star for 2015 - Joel Fameyeh.

Association Chairman of The Year - Frederick Otu Lartey (TAEKWONDO )

Table Tennis Stars of the Year- Felix Lartey, Bernard Joe Sam, Emmanuel Commey, Derrick Abrefa.


Online view pixel