King Promise avatar

King Promise

  • Real name: Gregory Bortey Newman
  • Birthday: 16 August 1995
  • Nationality: Ghanaian
  • Star sign: Leo
  • Occupation: singer, songwriter
  • Height: 5’9’’ or 1.76 cm

Who is King Promise?

King Promise, born Gregory Bortey Newman, is a Ghanaian singer, songwriter, and recording artist. He rose to prominence with his unique blend of Afrobeats, R&B, and highlife music. He is signed to Legacy Life Entertainment, a record label founded by producer Killbeatz. He has released several hit songs, such as "Oh Yeah", "Selfish", "Tokyo", "Sisa", and "CCTV".

Career Timeline

King Promise developed a passion for music at a young age and started singing in church. He also learned to play the guitar and piano. He was influenced by artists such as R. Kelly, Usher, Sarkodie, and Kojo Antwi.

He started his music career professionally in 2016, when he released his debut single "Thank God" featuring Fuse ODG and produced by Killbeatz. The song was well received and gained him some recognition.

King Promise also collaborated with DJ Vision on the song "Double Trouble" which became a hit and topped several radio charts. He also featured on songs by other artists such as Sarkodie, Joey B, Mr Eazi, M.anifest, and R2Bees.

In 2017, he gained widespread recognition with the release of his hit single, "Oh Yeah," which topped music charts in Ghana and became a fan favourite.

King Promise has since released several successful singles and collaborations, including "Selfish" (2017), "CCTV" (2018), "Tokyo" (2018), and "Sisa" (2020), among others.

He has received numerous awards and nominations for his contributions to the Ghanaian music industry, including the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards and the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA).

Top 10 King Promise Songs:

  1. "Thank God" (2016)
  2. "Oh Yeah" (2017)
  3. "Selfish" (2017)
  4. "CCTV" (2018)
  5. "Abena" (2018)
  6. "Tokyo" (2018)
  7. "Bra" (2019)
  8. "Commando" (2019)
  9. "Sisa" (2020)


King Promise has collaborated with various notable artists both within Ghana and internationally. Some of his notable collaborations include

  1. “Thank God” feat Fuse ODG (2016)
  2. “Joey B” with Sweetie Pie (2017)
  3. "Can't Let You Go" with Sarkodie (2018)
  4. “CCTV” with Mugeez & Sarkodie (2018)
  5. "Baby I'm Jealous" with Mr Eazi and emPawa Africa (2020)
  6. “Alright” with Shatta Wale (2020)
  7. “Ring My Line” with Headie One (2021)
  8. “Sugarcane” Remix with Camidoh, Mayorkun & Darkoo (2022)

Tours and Performances

King Promise has performed at several major events and music festivals in Ghana and other countries, showcasing his dynamic stage presence and captivating performances.

He has also embarked on solo tours and has performed in various cities around the world, including the United Kingdom, United States, Dubai, Canada, and Australia.


King Promise released his debut album, "As Promised," in 2019. The album features a mix of Afrobeats, R&B, and highlife sounds, and includes popular tracks such as "Bra" and "Commando."

He has also released several EPs, including "King Promise" (2016) and "Oh Yeah (The Remixes)" (2017).

Relationship Timeline

King Promise has been very private about his personal life and has not revealed much about his relationship status or history. However, he has been linked to some women in the past, such as actress Serwaa Amihere, model Haillie Sumney, singer Efya, and TV presenter Berla Mundi.

Related articles

Kuami EugeneKiDi - Dennis Nana DwamenaGyakie
Online view pixel