Election 2020: Jean Mensa declares Akufo-Addo winner over Mahama

Election 2020: Jean Mensa declares Akufo-Addo winner over Mahama

- The Electoral Commissioner Jean Mensa has announced the results of the 2020 presidential results

- President Nana Akufo-Addo of the NPP came tops with 51.59% of the total votes cast giving him a second term in office

- His main contender and former president, John Mahama of the NDC, polled 47.36% of votes

Trending topics on the go: How we write news at YEN.com.gh

Install our latest app for Android and read the best news about Ghana

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has won a second term as President of the Republic of Ghana after being declared the winner of the 2020 presidential elections.

Akufo-Addo, the incumbent, bested his main contender John Mahama, a former president who was also seeking a second term in office, in the polls held on Monday, December 7, 2020.

Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, Jean Mensa, announced the victory of Akufo-Addo on Wednesday, December 9, 2020.

Read also

Election 2020: Akua Donkor storms Akufo-Addo's house to congratulate him on victory

Election 2020: Jean Mensa declares Akufo-Addo winner over Mahama
Photo: Sean Gallup
Source: Getty Images
"On the basis of the foregoing elections results and by the power vested in me as the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission of Ghana and the returning officer of the presidential election, it is my duty and honour to declare Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo as president-elect of Ghana. May God bless our homeland Ghana and make our nation great and strong. Let peace reign, Thank you" she said.

Akufo-Addo polled 6,730, 413 votes representing (51.59%), to defeat Mahama who managed 6, 214, 889 votes, which represented 47.366%.

Christian Kwabena Andrews of the Ghana Union Movement (GUM), a first-time runner, came third with 105, 565 votes being 0.805%. The Conventions Peoples Party (CPP) candidate, Ivor Kobina Greenstreet, got 12,215 votes (0.093%)

Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP) got 5,575 votes (0.042%). Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP) got 3,574 (0.027%).

Hassan Ayariga of the All peoples Congress (APC) got 7,140 (0.054%). The Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG's) Percival Kofi Akpaloo polled 7,690 (0.059%)

Read also

Aliu Mahama's son wins Yendi seat for NPP

David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera of the Peoples National Convention (PNC) got 10, 887 (0.083%). Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku polled 6,848 (0.052%).

Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP) polling 6,612 (0.05%) and Independent candidate Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker secured 9,703 votes (0.074%).

Election 2020: Jean Mensa declares Akufo-Addo winner over Mahama
EC Chairperson Jean Mensa declaring results of 2020 elections Photo: Joy News TV
Source: UGC

The presidential election result was declared without the results of the Techiman South constituency in the Bono East region which is being contested.

Jean Mensa indicated that even if the total 128, 018 votes of the Techiman South were added to that of Mahama, Akufo-Addo was going to win hence the EC's decision to go ahead and declare.

The final declaration of the results comes after many press conferences by both Akufo-Addo's New Patriotic (NPP) and Mahama's National Democratic Congress (NDC) claiming victory for their respective candidates.

While the NPP emphatically stated that Akufo-Addo was winning convincingly and they were winning parliament, the NDC said their impressive showing in the parliamentary elections and correlated to an impending victory for Mahama and warned the EC against.

Read also

Election 2020: Yaw Buaben Asamoah, other NPP big-wigs lose their seats to NDC candidates

Interestingly, there was no representative of the NDC at the declaration of results even though many of the contesting parties had their representatives present.

Loads of supports and sympathisers of the NPP have poured onto the streets in jubilation since the EC chairperson declared Akufo-Addo as the winner.

Akufo-Addo's defeat of Mahama makes it two victories and one defeat for him in their three battles for the presidency. And it is two victories and feats for him counting his first attempt against John Mills in 2008.

In 2012, Akufo-Addo lost to Mahama who was the then president after taking over the remaining five months of late Professor John Atta Mills' presidency following his death in July.

While he disagreed with the EC's declaration of Mahama as the winner and petitioned the Supreme Court to overturn the decision, he conceded defeat after the court upheld the EC's verdict.

In 2016, Akufo-Addo came back stronger and inflicted a heavy defeat on Mahama, the then incumbent president, winning by a margin of almost one million votes.

Read also

Election 2020: Late Mfantsiman man MP's wife wins seat

After being sworn into office in 2017, Akufo-Addo set out to fulfil his promises including Free SHS, One District One Factory, One Village One Dam, among others.

While Akufo-Addo believes he has performed creditably as president, it looks like many Ghanaians did not agree with him and it has manifested in the difference between him and Mahama being halved.

With his victory, Akufo-Addo will be sworn in for his second term as president on January 7, 2021. He is 76 years old and will be 80 at the time he leaves office.

Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition?

Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel