NDC Elections 2023: Kwabena Donkor And Other MPs Who Lost Their Parliamentary Bids In Fierce Primaries

NDC Elections 2023: Kwabena Donkor And Other MPs Who Lost Their Parliamentary Bids In Fierce Primaries

  • The NDC held its presidential and parliamentary primaries on Saturday, May 13, 2023, ahead of the 2024 general elections
  • Some incumbent Members of Parliament lost their bids to represent their constituencies and the party again
  • In an interview with YEN.com.g, CPP youth leader Eric Jerry Aidoo claimed the MPs who lost the race had failed their constituents

PAY ATTENTION: Enjoy reading our stories? Join YEN.com.gh's Telegram channel for more!

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) went to the polls to elect presidential and parliamentary leaders on Saturday, May 13, ahead of the 2024 general elections.

Kwabena Donkor, former Minister of Power and Member of Parliament for Pru East lost to Lord Kwaku Boam in the fiercely contested primaries.

Boam received 474 votes to defeat Donkor, who amassed 371 votes and Bright Fiawornu, who garnered 66 votes, citinewsroom.com reported.

Photos of NDC MPs who lost their bids in Saturday’s primaries.
MPs who lost their parliamentary slots in 2023 NDC primaries. Photo credit: citinewsroom.com.
Source: UGC

Thomas Dalu and other MPS who lost

Read also

NDC Primaries 2023: Singer Keche's wife Joana Cudjoe wins Amenfi Central parliamentary slot

Thomas Dalu, the incumbent MP for Chiana-Paga, was also defeated by young businessman Nikyema Alamzy, who received 488 votes against Dalu's 300 votes.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see YEN.com.gh News on your News Feed!

Simon Akibange Aworigo garnered 475 votes and defeated three other candidates, including the current MP for Navrongo Central, Samson Tangombu Chiragia. The MP for Bongo, Edward Bawa also lost to Charles Bawaduah in Bongo.

In an interview with YEN.com.gh about the just-ended NDC primaries, the Greater Accra Youth Organiser of the Convention People's Party (CPP), Eric Jerry Aidoo, said the NDC MPs who lost the bids failed to deliver on their mandate to their constituents.

''They failed their people, so the delegates voted against them. Whenever they need power, they go to them and lie to them ...
''Ghanaians are smart now; you can't lie to them. If they had done something good, they would have gone unopposed. They should come and join the CPP to win the 2024 elections,'' he told YEN.com.gh.

Read also

The margin is too big: Kojo Bonsu concedes to Mahama after humiliating defeat

See the incumbent NDC MPs who lost their slots below:

1. Kwabena Donkor – Pru East

2. ABA Fuseini – Sagnerigu

3. Thomas Dalu – Chiana-Paga

4. Samson Tangombu Chiragia – Navrongo Central

5. Edward Bawa – Bongo

6. Alex Adomako – Sekyere Afram Plains

7. Wisdom Gidisu – Krachie East

8. Abeiku Crentsil – Ekumfi

9. Albert Akuka Alalzuuga – Garu

10. Della Sowah – Kpando

11. Augustine Tawia – Bia West

12. Angela Oforiwa Alorwu-Tay – Afadjato South

13. Peter Yaw Kwakye Ackah – Amenfi Central

14. Christian Otuteye – Sege

15. Kobena Woyome – South Tongu

16. Sophia Ackuaku – Current MP for Domeabra-Obom but switched to Ayawaso Central

17. Kwadwo Nyanpon Aboagye – Biakoye

Musician Keche's wife Joana Cudjoe wins Amenfi Central parliamentary slot

Relatedly, YEN.com.gh earlier reported that Joana Gyan Cudjoe, business mogul and wife of musician Keche Andrew, won the Amenfi Central National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary race.

Read also

Big losers and 'seat retainers': NDC parliamentary primaries turn up interesting results

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Golden Empire Legacy Limited polled 756 out of the total 1,486 delegates cast to clinch a landslide victory on Saturday, May 13.

She defeated the contest from her leading contender Peter Yaw Kwakye Ackah, who garnered 575 to emerge second, Peacefmonline.com said.

New feature: Сheck out news that is picked for YOU ➡️ click on “Recommended for you” and enjoy!

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel