Election 2020: List of one-term MPs who were voted out of parliament

Election 2020: List of one-term MPs who were voted out of parliament

Just like every election year, some parliamentary candidates are unable to retain their seats after serving for just one term.

Trending topics on the go: How we write news at YEN.com.gh

Install our latest app for Android and read the best news about Ghana

These parliamentary candidates were probably not retained by the people in their respective constituencies as a result of their lack of confidence in them.

This 2020 parliamentary and presidential election is no different from the others as the people voted out the leaders they felt were not working.

Election 2020: List of one-term Memebrs of parliament
George Andah and Dr. Bernard Okoe-Boye
Source: Facebook

Below is a list of first term members of parliament who were unable to retain their seats.

1. Yaw Buabeng Asamoah

The Adentan constituency is notorious for not retaining their members of parliament to serve for a second term. Probably based on their assessments, the MP, Yaw Buabeng Asamoa was not retained.

He lost he seat to NDC's Adamu Ramadan, who happens to be the brother of second lady, Samira Bawumia.

Read also

NPP to consider welcoming back Fomena MP after sacking him before elections

2. Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye

Dr. Bernard Okoe-Boye was the member of Parliament for the Ledzorkuku constituency. His loss came as a surprise to many as he was pinpointed as one of the most hard working MPs. Unfortunately for him, his constituents did not find him worthy to be retained.

3. Paul Essien

Paul Essien was the member of parliament for the Jomoro Constituency. He lost the seat to NDC's Dorcas Nda-Affo Toffey


4. George Nenyi Andah

The former deputy communications minister, George Nenyi Andah won the Awutu Senya West seat in 2016, to represent the people in parliament. He snatched the seat from the then incumbent, Hannah Tetteh.

Unfortunately for him, he was not able to retain the seat as the sister of Hannah Tetteh, Gizelle Tetteh-Agbotui defeated him in the 2020 general elections.

5. Barbara Asher Ayisi

Barbara Asher Ayisi was the member of parliament for the Cape Coast North Constituency. She won the seat in 2016. She, however, was not able to retain her seat.

Read also

Election 2020: See all the new faces in Ghana's 8th parliament

6. Elizabeth Afoley Quaye

Afley Quaye was the fisheries and aquaculture minister and represented the people of Krowor in Ghana's seventh parliament.

Just like her other colleagues, she was unable to gather enough votes to retain the seat.

Meanwhile, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo won a second term as President of the Republic of Ghana after being declared the winner of the 2020 presidential elections.

Akufo-Addo, the incumbent, bested his main contender John Mahama, a former president who was also seeking a second term in office, in the polls held on Monday, December 7, 2020.

Have national and human interest issues to discuss? Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition? Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page.

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel