5 Akufo-Addo 'boys' gearing up for Parliament

5 Akufo-Addo 'boys' gearing up for Parliament

- The NPP is the next political party to elect Parliamentary candidates for the 2020 Parliamentary election

- Orphan constituencies describe those constituencies in the country where the party does not have sitting Members of Parliament (MPs)

- YEN.com.gh takes a look at five aspirants who are believed to be 'boys' of President Akufo-Addo

The various political parties in Ghana are keenly gearing up for the 2020 general elections, as candidates scramble for slots in the various constituencies.

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) on Saturday, August 24 held its Parliamentary primaries and the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) will soon hold theirs.

A lot of names have so far been thrown around with less than 16 months to the 2020 general elections.

READ ALSO: The US is jacking up visa fees for Nigerians

For the NPP, some 266 persons have been recommended to the National Executive Committee (NEC) to be cleared to contest the party’s upcoming primaries.

Below, we take a look at five Akufo-Addo 'boys' who are gearing up for Parliamentary seats in 2020:

1.     Hopeson Adorye

Hopeson Adorye is set to contest the NPP primaries in the Kpone-Katamanso Constituency of the Greater Accra Region.

Mr. Adorye will, however, face competition from William Ofosu Asante, Prince Dadzie, Mark Fuachie-Sobreh and David Quaye Annang to represent the Kpone-Katamanso Constituency on the ticket of the NPP.

2.     Abu Jinapor

The Deputy Chief of Staff, Samuel Abu Jinapor will also contest the NPP’s primaries in the Damango Constituency in the Savannah Region.

He is likely to go unopposed as no other candidates have put their names forward to challenge him for the spot.

3.     Samuel Kofi Dzamesi

The Minister for Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs, Samuel Kofi Dzamesi, is also gearing up to contest the upcoming NPP primaries.

The former Volta Regional Minister is set to contest unopposed in the Ketu North Constituency, having failed in his three previous attempts.

If successful, Mr. Dzamesi will look to win the seat from Deputy Minority Leader, James Klutse Avedzi. 

READ ALSO: Government partners UNOPS to construct 100,000 houses nationwide

4.     Rashid Bawa

Rashid Bawa has also been cleared by the National Parliamentary Vetting Committee (NPVC) of the NPP to contest the primaries in the Akan Constituency.

He is currently Ghana’s High Commissioner to Nigeria and is also a former Member of Parliament (MP).

5.     Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam

In the Karaga Constituency in the Northern Region, Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam has been recommended to contest.

He will go head-to-head with Alhassan Abdulai (Nabugu), Suleman Ibn Sa-eed and Baba Sayuti to represent the constituency.

YEN.com.gh earlier reported that Lydia Seyram Alhassan, MP has donated 11 cars and 11 mobile phones to 11 electoral areas in the Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency.

The legislator presented each electoral area in her constituency with a KIA Morning saloon car.

Ghana News Today: BIG Surprises from the 2019 NDC Primaries | #Yencomgh

Subscribe to watch new videos

READ ALSO: Lumba's releases latest song for NPP’s 1D1F

Know someone who is extremely talented and needs recognition? Your stories and photos are always welcome. Get interactive via our Facebook page.

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel