Accra Circuit Court charges 20 NDC MPs for marching to EC headquarters

Accra Circuit Court charges 20 NDC MPs for marching to EC headquarters

- The Opposition MPs have been charged with unlawful gathering for marching to the EC office in Accra

- They clashed with police during the said march on December 22, 2020

- They were at the EC’s office to petition the chair, Jean Mensa

An Accra Circuit Court has charged the minority leader in Parliament, Haruna Iddrisu, with unlawful assembly for marching to the headquarters of the Electoral Commission (EC).

Iddrisu was charged alongside 19 other National Democratic Congress (NDC) Members of Parliament (MPs).

Haruna Iddrisu, 19 other NDC MPs charged
Haruna Iddrisu, 19 other NDC MPs charged Image credit: Haruna Institute
Source: UGC

Iddrisu on Tuesday, December 22, 2020, led his colleagues to petition the chairperson of the EC, Jean Mensa over the parliamentary results of Techimman South seat which was called for the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Barred from going beyond a barricade around the Ridge Roundabout, Iddrisu led the opposition MPs to break through the barricade in defiance leading to a serious brawl with security officers manning the EC premises.

Read also

Ablakwa strikes again: Reveals Godfred Dame has resigned from National Cathedral post

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your News Feed!

The MPs were reportedly physically manhandled by the police for being “obstinate.”

According to the statement of offense, the NDC legislators beyond unlawfully assembling conducted themselves “in a manner likely to cause persons in the neighbourhood reasonable fear where a breach of the peace is likely to be occasioned.”

Those charged alongside Iddrisu include; Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, Samuel George, John Abdulai Jinapor, Rockson Defiamekpor, Ras Mubarak, Mutawakilu Adam, Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi, and Dr. Kwabena Donkor.

The rest are; A.B. Fuseini, Kwabena Minta Akando, Yusif Issaka Jaja, Isaac Adongo, Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah, James Klutse Avedzi, James Agalga, Collins Dauda, Abdul Rashi Pelpuo, Richard Quashigah, and Zanetor Agyeman Rawlings.

Install our latest app for Android and read the best news about Ghana

In other news, about 6000 security officers including personnel of the Ghana Armed Forces have been earmarked to police the inauguration of President Nana Akufo-Addo on Thursday, January 7, 2021.

Read also

Brothers for life: Mahama and Haruna Iddrisu seen interacting heartily in video

Akufo-Addo was re-elected for another four-year term in the 2020 presidential polls, polling 51.302% of the votes to defeat the presidential candidate of the NDC, John Dramani Mahama.

The security personnel will be expected to secure and patrol the entire State House Complex, Accra International Conference Centre, Accra Sports Stadium, and the Black Star Square on the day.

Mahama, however, rejected the outcome, filing a petition at the Supreme Court to challenge it even though his party says there was no evidence he won the election.

Addressing Ghanaians on Wednesday, December 30, 2020, the former president explained that he was contesting the outcome to remove doubts in the minds of Ghanaians over the credibility of the electoral process.

Enjoy reading our stories? Join's Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

New feature: Сheck out news that is picked for YOU ➡️ click on “Recommended for you” and enjoy!


Mohammed Awal avatar

Mohammed Awal Mohammed Awal holds a Bachelor of Arts in Communication Studies (Journalism) at the Ghana Institute of Journalism. He has worked in print and online media with Ghanaian-based The Chronicle newspaper, Starr FM and US-based online portable, He also had brief stints with Africafeeds.