Western Region of Ghana Districts and Capitals

Western Region of Ghana Districts and Capitals

Ghana is a key destination in Africa. Apart from the vast opportunities this country offers, you will also fall in love with the culture and ambiance of the people and the place. To start with, Ghana or the Republic of Ghana is a constitutional democratic state located along the Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of Guinea in the western part of the African continent. Like most countries in the continent, Ghana is divided into a number of sections with regions being the biggest representation in the area. The following article seeks to educate us about the Western region of the country. Read on and learn more about the region’s districts and Capitals.

Western Region of Ghana Districts and Capitals

The Western Region in Ghana

Ghana comprises of several regions however as you will find out, the Western region of Ghana is one of the best places to be. This region boasts of having the best things you can ever imagine. From its lush vegetation as a result of the adequate supply of rainfall, plenty of natural resources to quality educational facilities you surely cannot miss a single aspect to fall in love with this region. Geographically the Western region of Ghana map indicates that this region is quite large with its two largest cities being Takoradi and Sekondi. The following article seeks to give a few insights into the region's districts and capitals to anyone planning to visit or work in the region.

Read also

List of 2021 World's top 5 safest cities post-pandemic emerge, US, UK, Germany missing

Western Region of Ghana Districts and Capitals

Map of Western Region of Ghana

Whether you are planning to visit or live in a new area, having some insights about the place is very key. One of the many things you should look out for is the map. A map gives the direction and blueprint of the place. Luckily for the Western region of Ghana, you can find this map online or visiting the necessary authority bodies.

Western District of Ghana Districts and Capitals

The Republic of Ghana is a large geographical area ruled and governed by the president. For ease of administrative purposes, the country is further subdivided into regions which are divided further into municipalities, Metropolitans and districts depending on a number of factors. A Metropolitan is an administrative unit with at least a population greater than 250,000 inhabitants. A Municipality, on the other hand, is a region with a population size of between 250,000 to 95,000 inhabitants while a district has a population of 95,000 and 75,000 inhabitants.

Read also

The long dark map guide: All regions and transition zones

READ ALSO: Brief History of Ghana Health Service

The district map of the western region of Ghana indicates that this region has a total of 15 districts. Below is the list of the different districts and their capitals.

  • Ahanta West (Capital: Agona Nkwanta)
  • Aowin/Suaman (Capital: Enchi)
  • Bia East (Capital: Asokore Adabokrom)
  • Bia West (Capital: Essam)
  • Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai (Capital: Bibiani)
  • Jomoro (Capital: Half Assini)
  • Juabeso (Capital: Juaboso)
  • Mpohor/Wassa East (Capital: Daboase)
  • Wasa Amenfi East (Capital: Wassa-Akropong)
  • Wasa Amenfi West (Capital: Asankrangua)
  • Wassa West (Capital: Aboso)
  • Ellembelle (Capital: Nkroful)
  • Prestea-Huni Valley (Capital: Bogoso)
  • Sefwi Akontombra (Capital: Sefwi Akontombra)
  • Shama (Capital: Shama)
Western Region of Ghana Districts and Capitals

The Metropolitan of the western region is known as the Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan and its capital is in Sekondi-Takoradi. The region has three municipalities namely the Nzema East Municipal- capital: Axim, Sefwi-Wiawso Municipal- capital: Wiawso and Tarkwa-Nsuaem Municipal- capital: Tarkwa.

Read also

The Northern Region districts and their capitals in Ghana

There are a number of distinctive features that make the western Ghana region the pride of the country. Districts such as Wassa, Nzema, Sefwi and Ahanta dominate this area with their amazing culture. In addition to this, the western region towns in Ghana have all the luxuries and opportunities you can seek as a tourist or an investor.

The above facts are just but a tip of what the Western region of Ghana has to offer. Before you visit the region whether as a tourist or an investor it is important that you educate yourself about the region and its different administrative positions. The above information will help you get started.

READ ALSO: Ghana Immigration Service Ranks and Insignia

Subscribe to watch new videos

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel