Districts in the Central Region and their capitals

Districts in the Central Region and their capitals

Historically, the Central Region was the former administrative center of present-day Ghana, formerly the Gold Coast. It is also known to be the first area in Ghana in contact with the Europeans. There are several districts in the Central Region that occupythe heart of present-day Ghana.

Districts in the Central Region
A Central Region map showing all the districts Photo: Facebook
Source: Facebook

Cape Coast, locally known as Oguaa, served as Gold Coast’s capital until 1877 when the capital was transferred to Accra. The Central Region is divided into 20 districts that have different capitals and administration offices.

It borders Ashanti and Eastern Regions to the north, the Greater Accra Region to the east, Western Region to the West, and to the south is a 168-km length Atlantic Ocean(Gulf of Guinea) coastline.

Districts in the Central Region

The Region has several districts with their respective capitals where the administrators are located. These capitals are also major business, religious, education, and communication centers.

How many districts are in Central Region?

There are 20 districts in Ghana’s Central Region. Below are the districts and their capitals:

  • Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese - Dunkwa
  • Agona East - Nsaba
  • Agona West Municipal - Swedru
  • Ajumako/Enyan/Essiam - Ajumako
  • Asikuma/Odoben/Brakwa - Breman Asikuma
  • Assin North Municipal - Assin Foso
  • Assin South - Nsuaem-Kyekyewere
  • Awutu Senya East Municipal - Kasoa
  • Awutu Senya West - Awutu Breku
  • Cape Coast Metropolitan - Cape Coast
  • Effutu Municipal - Winneba
  • Ekumfi - Essarkyir
  • Gomoa East - Afransi
  • Gomoa West - Apam
  • Komenda/Edina/Eguafo/Abirem Municipal - Elmina
  • Mfantsiman Municipal - Saltpond
  • Twifo-Ati Morkwa - Twifo Praso
  • Twifo/Heman/Lower Denkyira - Heman
  • Upper Denkyira East Municipal - Dunkwa-on-Offin
  • Upper Denkyira West - Diaso

New districts in Central Region

In 2012, there were constitutional amendments within the Central Region, and existing districts were further divided to form new ones. The newly added or changed districts in the Central Region and their capitals are:

  • Ewutu Senya - Kasoa Municipal
  • Mfantseman - Ekumfi District
  • Twifo-Hemang-Lower Denkyira - Hemang Lower Denkyira District

Central Region towns

The Region has several towns located in various districts. Most of the towns in the districts in the Central Region are administrative towns and are capitals for these districts. Some of them are:

  • Agona Swedru
  • Fosos
  • Saltpond
  • Dunkwa-on-Offin
  • Apam
  • Cape Coast
  • Winneba
  • Twifo Praso
  • Kasoa
  • Awutu Breku
  • Abura Dunkwa
  • Diaso
  • Nsaba
  • Assin Kyekyewere
  • Afrance
  • Ajumako
  • Mankessim
  • Nsuta
  • Potsin
Central Region towns
Cape Coast castle which served as British Headquarters and a slave prison Photo: MyLoupe/Universal Images Group
Source: Getty Images
  • Nyakrom
  • Asikuma
  • Esakyir
  • Obrachere
  • Kwanyako
  • Obrachere


The region has three castles, fortified residences, which were built by the Europeans. They were used as residences for the administrators. Below are these castles:

  • Cape Coast
  • St. George’s d’Elmina and Christiansborg at Osu
  • Accra


Collectively, the districts in the Central Region have 15 Forts. Forts and castles seem to be having the same meaning but forts were mainly used in the military or as slave homes. These forts are:

  • Good Hope at Senya Beraku
  • Patience at Apam
  • Amsterdam at Abandzi
  • St. Jago at Elmina
  • San Sebastian at Shama
  • Metal Cross at Dixcove
  • St. Anthony at Axim
  • Orange at Sekondi
  • Groot Fredericksborg at Princesstown
  • William (Lighthouse) at Cape Coast
  • William at Anomabu
  • Victoria at Cape Coast
  • Ussher at Usshertown
  • James at Jamestown
  • Accra and Apollonia at Beyin

However, there are also other four forts that are partially in ruins and are located in this region. Most likely, they were ruined during the World Wars. They are:

  • Amsterdam at Abandzi
  • English Fort at British Komenda
  • Batenstein at Butre
  • Prinzensten at Keta
Districts in Central Region
Elmina which served as a slave fort Photo: MyLoupe/Universal Images Group
Source: UGC


After the colonial government, there are some areas that were left in ruins especially after the Second World War. These areas are currently tourist attraction sites. They represent five ruins with visible structures that are based in these districts in the Central Region:

  • Nassau at Mouri
  • Fredensborg at Old Ningo
  • Vredenburg at Dutch Komenda
  • Vernon at Prampram
  • Dorothea at Akwida


There are also two sites with traces of former fortifications that also attract tourists in the Region. They are:

  • Frederiksborg at Amanful
  • Cape Coast and Augustaborg at Teshie, Accra.

Besides all these towns, castles, forts, ports, and sites in the region, there are many schools, colleges, and other tertiary institutions. Therefore, education is highly valued in the region.

The information provided in this article depicts the number of districts in Central Region, which is 20, and their respective capitals. The districts in the Central Region have a large population that is evenly distributed.

Yen.com.gh recently uploaded an article about the best 10 best Senior High Schools in Central Region. Central Region has 67 public senior high schools classified into A, B, and C categories.

Most of these learning institutions offer quality education and have a history of better academic performance. Some of them also have many facilities that help to advance a student’s learning activities.

Subscribe to watch new videos

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel