NPP Super Delegates Congress: Kufuor, Akufo-Addo Part Of Composition Voting On August 26

NPP Super Delegates Congress: Kufuor, Akufo-Addo Part Of Composition Voting On August 26

  • The breakdown of the NPP super delegates has been disclosed by a staunch member of the governing party
  • The composition shows that former president John Agyekum Kufuor and President Nana Akufo-Addo will be voting on Saturday, August 26, 2023
  • The breakdown suggests that there would be more than 956 delegates voting in the first round of the primary to select five out of the 10 flagbearer aspirants

The composition of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Super Delegates voting in the presidential primary on Saturday, August 26, 2023, has been disclosed.

The numbers show constituency chairmen of the party make up the largest group of voters followed by regional executives and then the Members of Parliament.

NPP Super Delegates vote to elect 5 out of 10 flagbearer aspirants on August 26.
A lady waves NPP flag (L) and the 10 aspirants contesting to NPP flagbearer. Source: Facebook/@newpatrioticpartyghana
Source: UGC

Below is a breakdown of the Super Delegates voting in today's primaries to elect 5 flagbearer aspirants from the 10 candidates contesting:

Read also

Mahama is returning as President: Omane Boamah promises as he heads NDC's elections directorate

1. All Constituency Chairmen - 275

2. All Regional Executives - 272

3. All NPP Members of Parliament - 137

4. Regional Representatives to the National Council - 60

5. Council of Elders - 30

6. Founding Members / Fathers - 123

7. Reps from the Women’s Wing - 3

8. Rep from the Youth Wing - 3

9. Reps from the Nasara Wing - 3

10. Three (3) reps from each of the 25 international branches - 75

11. All National Officers - 16

12. All Former National Officers

13. The President - 1

14. Former Presidents - 1

The total suggests the NPP Super Delegates exceed 1,000 although 956 has been reported by pro-NPP Daily Guide as the number of delegates.

After the best five have been elected, the party will hold a final election on November 4, 2023, to select one flagbearer to lead the party in the 2024 elections.

Read also

The Literacy Challenge 2023: List of 10 smart finalists to contest for GH¢10k cash emerges

Elections will take place in all 16 regions

The elections on August 26, 2023, will take place at all 16 regional capitals of the country and the Party Headquarters, Asylum Down. That is there are a total of 17 voting centres in all.

The Electoral Commission of Ghana will conduct the polls with assistance from the Presidential Elections Committee and the Ghana Police Service.

Voting centres across regions

The voting centres in each regional capital are as follows:

  1. Ashanti - KNUST, Kumasi
  2. Ahafo - Pastoral Centre, Goaso
  3. Bono - Pastoral Centre, Sunyani
  4. Bono East - Ameyaw-Akumfi Social Centre, Techiman
  5. Central - Pempamsie Hotel, Cape Coast
  6. Eastern - Eastern Premier, K’dua
  7. Greater Accra - Accra Senior High School
  8. Northern Region - Radach Hotel, Tamale
  9. North East - Nelerigu Secondary School
  10. Savannah - Damango Youth Centre
  11. Upper East - Ganas Hotel, Bolgatanga
  12. Upper West - Upland Hotel, Wa
  13. Oti - Dambai College of Education
  14. Volta - Pastoral Centre, Ho
  15. Western - Regional Library, Takoradi
  16. Western North - Villa Boakye Hotel, Sefwi-Wiawso

Read also

Aluta continua: NDC MPs to besiege Bank of Ghana in protest on September 5

Flagbearer aspirants how they appear on the ballot

The candidates contesting the polls and their positions on the ballot are listed below:

  1. Kennedy Ohene Agyapong
  2. Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen
  3. Joe Ghartey
  4. Kwadwo Nsafoah Poku
  5. Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto
  6. Kwabena Agyei Agyepong
  7. Francis Addai Nimo
  8. Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku
  9. Boakye Kyerematen Agyarko
  10. Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia

Who the flagbearer aspirants are

  • Kennedy Agyapong is a businessman and NPP MP for Assin Central;
  • Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen is a former Trade and Industry Minister;
  • Joe Ghartey is also a former Minister of Railways Development and Attorney-General and Minister of Justice;
  • Kwadwo Poku is an energy consultant;
  • Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto is the former Minister of Food and Agriculture;
  • Kwabena Agyei Agyepong is a former General Secretary of the NPP and Press Secretary to President J.A. Kufuor,
  • Francis Addai-Nimoh is a former MP for Mampong in the Ashanti Region;
  • Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku is a former Commissioner of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS);
  • Boakye Agyarko is a former Minister of Energy; and
  • Dr Mahamudu Bawumia is the vice president.

Read also

Kwame Sefa Kayi chills with Accra to London by road team at return party after members arrive in Ghana

Pollster warns Bawumia camp against underestimating Alan Kyerematen

Meanwhile, Head of Polls at Global InfoAnalytics Mussa Dankwah has predicted a Mahamudu Bawumia victory in the August 26 primary.

However, Dankwah said the gap between Bawumia and Alan Kyerematen will not be as big as some have predicted.

The pollster gave his prediction for the top five in the primary during an interview with

Chairman Wontumi leads group to cover campaign costs for Bawumia in Ashanti Region

Also, leading NPP politicians in the Ashanti Region have decided to fund Vice President Mahamaudu Bawumia’s campaign in the region.

The Ashanti Regional Chairman of the NPP, Bernard Antwi Boasiako, said this was a show of gratitude for developmental projects.

Boasiako said the group of financiers comprised Members of Parliament and traditional rulers based in the Ashanti Region.

New feature: Сheck out news that is picked for YOU ➡️ click on “Recommended for you” and enjoy!


George Nyavor avatar

George Nyavor (Head of Politics and Current Affairs Desk) George Nyavor writes for He has been Head of the Politics and Current Affairs Desk since 2022. George has over 9 years of experience in managing media and communications (Myjoyonline and GhanaWeb). George is a member of the Catholic Association of Media Practitioners Ghana (CAMP-G). He obtained a BA in Communications Studies from the Ghana Institute of Journalism in 2010. Reach out to him via

Online view pixel