2016 Vodafone Ghana Music Award Nominees list

2016 Vodafone Ghana Music Award Nominees list

-  VVIP, Sarkodie, Bisa KDei, Stonebwoy, SP Kofi Sarpong, and EL nominated for 2016 Ghana Music Awards artiste of the year

-   Nominees for Best New Artiste Of The Year  include Nero X, Kofi Kinaata, Donzy, Wisa, Atom

- Nominees were announced throughout the day on social media, radio and Television with top 3 categories announced at a special party at Kempinski Hotel. 

2016 Vodafone Ghana Music Award Nominees list
Kofi Kinaata and Wisa, nominees for Best New Artiste take a photo together at Ghana Music Awards nominees announcement party

The full list of nominations for the 2016 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards were unveiled at an announcement party at the Kempinski Hotel in Accra on Friday night, February 26. The party was held to complete the announcement process which began on social media, radio and TV throughout the day.

READ ALSO: Sarkodie in London to promote O2 Concert

Nominations for the 3 main categories, Most Popular Song Of The Year, Artist Of The Year, and Album of The Year were only revealed the the announcement party which was well attended by music stars and industry players.

READ ALSO: Radio stations entreated to play only Ghanaian Music on March 2

Artiste Of The Year



Bisa KDei


SP Kofi Sarpong


Vodafone Most Popular Song Of The Year

Skolom – VVIP featuring Sena Dagadu

Mansa – Bisa Kdei

Aporsor – Nicholas Omane Acheampong

Go Higher – Stonebowy

Ekikime – Wisa featuring Luther

Mi naa bop o – EL

Susuka – Kofi Kinaata

Album Of The Year

Verified – MzVee

Mary – Sarkodie

Elom – EL

Breakthrough – Bisa KDei

I Believe – SP Kofir Sarpong

Highlife Artiste Of The Year

Bisa Kdei


Ofori Amponsah

Nero X

Afro-pop Song Of The Year

Fuse ODG – Only

R2bees – Gboza featuring Davido

Edem – Nyedzilo featuring Reekado Banks

MzVee – Abofra featuring Efya

Adina – Coastal Vibes featuring Trigmatic

E.L – Mi Naa Bo Po

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste Of The Year




AK Songstress


Blakk Rasta

Hip-life/Hip-Hop Artiste Of The Year

Pappy Kojo

Omar Sterling





Best Collaboration Of The Year

VVIP – Skolom featuring Sena Dagadu

Sarkodie – Mewu featuring Akwaboah

Pappy Kojo – Ay3 Late featuring Sarkodie

Wisa – Ekikime featuring Luther

Donzy – The Crusade featuring Kofi Kinaata

Obrafour – Pimpinaa featuring Bisa Kdei

Record Of The Year

Adina – Coastal Vibes featuring Trigmatic

MzVee – Abofra featuring Efya

R2bees – Concert Party

Sarkodie – Bra featuring Pat Thomas

Yaa Yaa – Dumb Drum

Rocky Dawuni – Shine Light

M.anifest – Forget Dem

Hip-life Song Of The Year

Donzy – The Crusade featuring Kofi Kinaata

Atom – Ye Wo Krom

E.L – Koko

Wisa – Ekiki Me featuring Luther

VVIP – Skolom featuring Sena Dagadu

Guru – Pooley Swag

Highlife Song Of The Year

Aka Blay – Take Away featuring Cabum

Becca – Hwe

Bisa Kdei – Mansa

Obrafour – Pimpinaa featuring Bisa Kdei

R2Bees – Makoma

Kofi Kinaata – Susuka

Ofori Amponsah – Alewa featuring Sarkodie

Reggae/Dancehall Song Of The Year

Blakk Rasta – Serwaa Akoto

De Voice – It’s So Crazy

MzVee – Hold Me Now

Stonebwoy – Go Higher

AK Songstress – Holiday

Jupitar – Fire featuring Stonebwoy

Best Male Vocal Performance

Afriyie – Go Gaga

De Voice – It’s Crazy

Knii Lante – Thinking Out Loud

Pat Thomas – Bra (by Sarkodie)

Mugeez – Concert Party (With Omar Sterling)

Akwaboah Jnr. – Mewu (by Sarkodie)

Best Female Vocal Performance

Adina – Boom Boom Beat

Irene Logan – Me Do Wo

MzVee – Hold Me Now

Nana Yaa – E Go Be

Efya – SarkCess Story

Yaa Yaa – Dumb Drum

Hip-Hop Song Of The Year

E.L – All Black feat. Joey B & Pappy Kojo

Flowking Stone – Fire Bon Them

Kwaw Kese – Yakubu

Omar Sterling – Ninety Ninety

Pappy Kojo – Ay3 Late feat. Sarkodie

Best Rapper Of The Year

E.L – King Without A Crown

Flowking Stone – Fire Bon Dem

Omar Sterling – Nineteen Ninety

Pappy Kojo – Ay3 Late

Sarkodie – Hand To Mouth

Best Music Video Of The Year

E.L – Shelele

Obrafour – Nkontompo

Yaa Yaa – Dumb Drum

Edem – Girlfriend

Teephlow – The Warning

Preachers – Crazy For God

Best Group Of The Year






Producer Of The Year

Mo Beat – Skolom

Bisa Kdei/Kaywa – Mansa

Kwadwo Akwaboah – Aporsor

Beatz Dakay – Go Higher

Chapter Beatz – Ekikime

E.L – Mi Naa Bo Po

Dr. Ray – Ye Wo Krom

Kin Dee – Susuka

Best New Artiste Of The Year

Nero X

Kofi Kinaata




Unsung Artiste

Nii Funny

Wan O

Feli Nuna



Ebony Reigns

Gospel Song Of The Year

SP Kofi Sarpong – Hour By Hour featuring Joyce Blessing

Kofi Gyan – Yoboyo

Mary Owusu – W’ow Nkwa Wo Wor Ade

Obaapa Christy – Hyebre Sesafo

Patience Nyarko – Wafom Kwan

Nicholas Omane Acheapong

Gospel Artiste Of The Year

Obaapa Christy

Nicholas Omane Achemapong

Joe Mettle

SP Kofi Sarpong

Patience Nyarko


Songwriter Of The Year

Rex Omar – Paapa

Knii Lante – Beautiful Virgo

Kofi Kinaata – Susuka

MzVee, Richie & Efya – Abofra

Obrafour – Nkontompo

Stonebwoy – Go Higher

African Artiste Of The Year



Korede Bello



Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel