NDC Primaries 2023: These Are The 17 Sitting MPs Who Lost Their Seats To New Entrants

NDC Primaries 2023: These Are The 17 Sitting MPs Who Lost Their Seats To New Entrants

  • The NDC primaries last Saturday, May 13, 2023, resulted in big losses for some sitting Members of Parliament
  • About 17 MPs were ousted by new entrants by the time results were declared later Saturday
  • Some 356,624 party delegates voted in the parliamentary primaries held in 259 constituencies

PAY ATTENTION: Enjoy reading our stories? Join YEN.com.gh's Telegram channel for more!

The just-ended parliamentary primaries of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) kicked out some incumbent Members of Parliament (MP), much to the surprise of political pundits.

The primaries on Saturday, May 13, 2023, resulted in about 17 sitting parliamentarians losing their seats to new entrants.

For many people, the ousting of ABA Fuseini in the Sagnarigu contest and Dr Kwabena Donkor for Pru East were among the biggest upsets.

17 sitting MPs lost their seats to new entrants in Saturday, May 13 primaries.
L-R: Kwabena Donkor, ABA Fuseini and Edward Bawa. Source: Facebook/@aziz.a.anaba, @Nasara TV, @Melin Bakkorh
Source: Facebook

This is a list of the 17 sitting MPs who lost their seats

Below is the alphabetical arrangement of the names of the MPs who lost their seats in the primaries.

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

  1. ABA Fuseini – Sagnerigu
  2. Abeiku Crentsil – Ekumfi
  3. Albert Akuka Alalzuuga – Garu
  4. Alex Adomako – Sekyere Afram Plains
  5. Angela Oforiwa Alorwu-Tay – Afadjato South
  6. Augustine Tawia – Bia West
  7. Christian Otuteye – Sege
  8. Della Sowah – Kpando
  9. Edward Bawa – Bongo
  10. Kobena Woyome – South Tongu
  11. Kwabena Donkor – Pru East
  12. Kwadwo Nyanpon Aboagye – Biakoye
  13. Peter Yaw Kwakye Ackah – Amenfi Central
  14. Samson Tangombu Chiragia – Navrongo Central
  15. Sophia Ackuaku – Current MP for Domeabra-Obom but switched to Ayawaso Central
  16. Thomas Dalu – Chiana-Paga
  17. Wisdom Gidisu – Krachie East

Primaries were not held in 16 constituencies

The party did not hold the parliamentary elections in 16 constituencies.

A total of 356,624 delegates voted in the parliamentary primaries held in 259 constituencies.

The 16 constituencies include:

  1. Akwatia
  2. Ayensuano
  3. Afram Plains South
  4. Lower West Akim
  5. Manhyia South
  6. Adansi Asokwa
  7. Mampong
  8. Ayawaso West Wuogon
  9. Odododiodoo
  10. Amenfi East
  11. Akontombra
  12. Tano North
  13. Gomoa Central
  14. Assin North
  15. Effutu
  16. Abuakwa North

Sam George retains title to contest 2024 Ningo Prampram MP position

Meanwhile, YEN.com.gh reported in a related story that Ghanaian politician and member of parliament for Ningo Prampram maintained his position as the NDC's elected candidate for the 2024 elections.

After a fierce battle with Michael Kwetey, Sam George garnered 1036 votes out of 1700 total votes.

Sam George, who had earlier stated that he trusted his delegates to re-elect him, has got his fans rejoicing after his win.

New feature: Сheck out news that is picked for YOU ➡️ click on “Recommended for you” and enjoy!

Source: YEN.com.gh

Online view pixel